top of page
  • Writer's picturemade4suchatimeasthis

Montana!! (GYU #4)

Updated: May 12, 2021


I feel like time is just flying by. It's now only 20 days until I leave!! And...as of Thursday a couple weeks ago...I found out where I'll be going! Finally!

If you read the title of this update, you can probably guess already, but, my team has been placed in Montana! Missoula Montana. Not only am I so excited for the beautiful fall weather, the breathtaking sunsets and sunrises, and the beautiful landscapes, but two days ago, in our team call, we got to meet the couple who will be our leaders there and hear about all the ministry we'll get to do up there, and I'm so beyond excited for that. :)


My team will be living there in Missoula from September 5 - December 18-ish for the whole first semester at the University of Montana there. Cowboy Bob (yes, that's actually what he goes by ;) and his wife Deanne work with Cru there in Montana, doing college ministry at UM. I got to hear all about the students there, the campus, the clubs and studies they have set up with the college, and best of all, I got to catch their eager joy and excitement over the work that they do there. They are SO excited to get our team up there. Even their church is eager for us to come and is helping the team out by providing us with a couple vehicles to use while we're there. :)

I had anticipated doing high school ministry, (though I'm still so excited about getting to be on campus with these college freshmen at UM) and actually it looks like we'll get to do some of that too! One of Bob and Deanne's good friends works with Young Life there, and when my team's coming was brought up to her, she got so excited. "We've been praying for a team of 'gappers' to come up!" She can't wait to meet us, and I can't wait to meet her and all the students we'll get to interact with there too.


They're all so welcoming and excited for us. And I have to admit...I'm getting SO excited too. I mean, cowboy Bob's been talking about getting us all riding those Montana horses (He really did grow up on a ranch as a cowboy, so I guess he's earned his title) :) So, yeah. :D

But, really. It's so cool to see how God's given each person on my team such excitement and eagerness to do this! Earlier, if I'd heard we'd be "stuck" in the US for so much longer than I'd hoped before we can go overseas next year (Jan 2021), I probably would have been pretty disappointed. But in these last few weeks, I've really had to surrender all my expectations to God, knowing that His plan is far better. So, by the time two weeks ago when Jill told us the plans they'd solidified (in the course of a 24 hour time frame, actually!) I wasn't disappointed at all! In fact, I was just SO excited to find out (finally!) what we'd be doing!


And then talking to Bob and Deanne the other day was so good too. Just to hear Bob's perspective on it. And how he also called it God's "better plan", but also pointed out that it was always God's best plan for us. This isn't some "change of plans" deal for Him. He's had this all perfectly planned out for us from the beginning. He is faithful and true, and has such wonderful purposes for each of our lives that He's known since before we were born. :)


The past week has been so busy, but definitely good. Now that I know where I'm going to be (at least the first half of the 9 months), I've had to do a lot of shopping to buy all those warm winter necessities for Montana that I haven't really had need to have before, here in Alabama. ;) Even in just my wardrobe, it's been so awesome to see how God has continually surprised me and blessed me to provide for my needs in just the perfect ways. Like:

My family was actually in IN last week for my brother Caleb's wedding. And while we were up there, my aunt (also there for the wedding) had run out to find a dress for her daughter to wear at the wedding (she'd forgotten to pack one). But it turned out to be such a God-thing, because Aunt Emily ended up finding this clothing store there that was going out of business and everything was half price or more to clear out the store. And...since it was in Indiana, they had a lot better of a selection of winter sweaters, coats, and layers....and for around $6 a piece! I ended up being able to find all the tops I'd need for fall and winter in Montana all just at that one store! I never would have expected to find half my wardrobe needs there in Indiana just in the space of time between the wedding rehearsal and wedding day!

I keep being reminded of that verse that I've always loved. I can trust Him. He is able. Able to do far more than anything I could ever ask or imagine! He's been so faithful to me as I've been preparing for this trip, and I know that even as I'm leaving my church and family and friends here, He will be going with me when I leave, and He will be faithful to be with me there the whole time in Montana too. So I can be excited. Never fearful. Never stressed. Because He will provide.

He is a good good Father.


Blessings!

~Etsy


P.S. For those of you wondering...the T-shirt campaign went so well! Thank you all! We exceeded my goal for the first batch with 50+ shirts sold! The second batch is on now and will end August 31...so if you haven't gotten a shirt yet, please do! :D We need to get the same 50 orders in on this batch to ship it too. https://www.bonfire.com/cru-gap-year-missions-trip-2020-21/


P.P.S. Please continue to pray for the last bit of my fundraising. It's hard, because I still have a bit more to raise, but I also just want to spend these last 20 days with my family and friends. So it's hard to have to be working when I just want to be able to do family stuff with them. :( But...God has provided SO much already! And I know He will be faithful to provide the last bit too. Only $2,900 left to raise!


Thank you all so much for all your wonderful prayers and support! Only 20 days until adventure launch! :)



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page